Dhaka Range started its journey at the beginning of 20th century with Dhaka, Bakergonj, Faridpur and Mymensingh.

The newly formed Dhaka Range started with the joining of John Martin Coates as the first Deputy Inspector General on 24-08-1914.

At 60’s Mymensingh district was divided and a new district Tangail was formed and at the same time Bakergonj district was renamed as Barisal district and district headquarter was shifted to Barisal.After that Barisal district was attached to Khulna Division.

In 1984 greater districts were divided into small districts and sub divisions were abolished. After forming new districts Dhaka Range started its journey with 17 districts.

In 2015 Mymensingh Range started its journey with four districts.New Dhaka Range has 13 districts now.